RSS

The Atheists Hymn

26 Oct

To the tune of “To Be A Pilgrim”:

v1. I read a book today
“the God Delusion”
It said that I can say
Religion is illusion
There’s no discouragement
Shall make me once relent
My first avowed Intent
To mock religion.

v2. Who so beset me round
With fairy stories
Do but themselves confound
My obstinacy the more is
No faith shall stay my might
Though I with straw men fight
I’ll tweet all through the night
And mock religion

v3. On Sunday I shall go
To my mum’s for lunch
I shall not mention this
She would not like it
Then Atheism flee away
I’ll fear what she would say
To an avowed intent
To mock religion.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 26, 2012 in Commentariat

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The Atheists Hymn

  1. kargosh

    October 26, 2012 at 10:26 am

    I love the way the ‘fairy stories’ thing has really hit home.

    You don’t have to keep defending it, you know. You can always just give in to logic.

     
    • Damocles

      October 26, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      How long have we known each other? When have you ever persuaded me to your “logic”?

       
  2. kargosh

    October 28, 2012 at 9:30 am

    *My* logic? Thank you very much, although Bertrand Russell, John Stuart Mill, Darwin et al might be a little put out if they knew.

    And as to your first question: nearly 10 years?

     
    • Damocles

      October 30, 2012 at 7:22 am

      Interesting, Russell eschewed religion, Mill thought it was a matter for individual choice and Darwin moved away from religion in later life but maintained that it was down to the individual.

      Each man chose to view the religious through his own personal philosophy and only Russell, of your three, was out and out opposed to religion.

      By “your” logic I mean, as you know full well, that each person moulds the logic of their own personal philosophy according to their own thought, belief and experience. Some manage to read widely and draw their own conclusions others believe the last thing they read, saw or heard. Some, as a result of either, feel the need to proselytise their personal philosophy (or someone else’s that they have read) to others.

      It’s notable also that of the entire text of my blog you zeroed in on two words and ignored the main thrust. I find that quite telling.

       

Leave a Reply

 
