RSS

Idiots

31 Oct

In view of the various deaths from online bullying it appears that kids (and maybe a few adults) need to be educated on dealing with idiots.

Someone who tries to bully you online is an idiot.
Someone who can’t respond to something you say online without recourse to personal abuse is an idiot.
Someone who down thumbs or otherwise denigrates something you say online without offering any sort of constructive explanation is an idiot.
Someone who, on the basis of no relation with you apart from an online one, tries to act like they “expected better of you” is an idiot.
Someone who spends untold amounts of time trying to wind you up online is an idiot.

Do you care what idiots think of you?  Should that make you change your behaviour or react?  No.  Of course not.  Ignore the idiots.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2012 in Commentariat

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Idiots

  1. saoili

    October 31, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Is this something you’ve experienced yourself? Do you think that it is easy to ignore the idiots?

    I haven’t experienced much in the way of online bullying. But a work colleague said some unpleasant things about what I’d said on my blog in a place he never expected me to read. I know he’s an idiot, but that doesn’t stop me reeling from this.

    I think you should probably be careful that you’re not wandering into victim blaming. After all, if all they had to do to get over this was ignore the idiots, was it their own fault things turned out the way they did?

     
    • Damocles

      October 31, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      I’ve been online for about 18 or 19 years so yes, I’ve seen a bit. I’ve actually been in a flame war that took 3 years to resolve, don’t ask.

      “Do you think that it is easy to ignore the idiots?” ici -> https://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2012/07/06/how-to-implode-a-troll/

      “After all, if all they had to do to get over this was ignore the idiots, was it their own fault things turned out the way they did?”

      I think kids are encouraged to seek self ratification from others, I think this is a behaviour that needs to be changed. I’m not blaming the victims. I’m blaming the idiots.

       

Leave a Reply

 
